file A thief on the loose!

• HiGuy
  • Lead Developer
  • Lead Developer
  • PQ Developer Emeritus
  • Thank you received: 604
01 Jan 1970 00:00 #1
Oh you. Also, replay center stolen? Also, leak much?

This signature is real code
Code:
function clientcmd12dothepq() { commandToClient(LocalClientConnection, '34onthedancefloor'); }

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Jeff
  • Jeff's Avatar Topic Author
  • Elite Marbler
  • Elite Marbler
  • PlatinumQuest Programmer
  • Thank you received: 205
01 Jan 1970 00:00 #2
cause i never requested it yet, duh.

Please lock.

I am a programmer. Most here know me for being one of the major contributors to Marble Blast Platinum and PlatinumQuest.

• Jeff
  • Elite Marbler
  • Elite Marbler
01 Jan 1970 00:00 #3
Quote:Last I checked, copying code (unless declared in the commented section of the code) isn't 'illegal' and certainly doesn't entail the 'culprit' as a 'thief'. Besides, if he 'copied' your code, wouldn't the commented section at the top state that you, Jeff, are the creator of the code, and therefore it was not 'stolen', but given proper credit to the author?

He credited himself when at the top of every single file that I or Higuy created in PR, it always goes as follows:

I.E.:

//
//JoinMultiplayerGui.gui by Jeff Hutchinson & HiGuy
//

That clarifies that point.

Quote:Codes that are posted to the GG forums are open source, are they not? What's the difference between the GG forums and the MBDK?

I dont know GG's rules on that stuff, but I would say w/o giving proper credit to the author, then its stealing.

3. I gave all my staff access to PR's codes because I thought I could trust them. Appearently not, which is why i am mad. I have talked to him previously before, and he has admitted to me in the past that he has stole, this is not a shocker to me that he just did it again. I wanted to give him a chance, but I guess I learned my lession.