file 4. My Problems with Marble Blast

• NF
  • NF's Avatar Topic Author
  • Away
  • Senior Marbler
  • Senior Marbler
  • Thank you received: 405
29 Jan 2019 02:31 #1
I've been playing this game for nearly 10 years now. However, sometimes it wears on me. Both being in the community and actually playing the game can sometimes be more negative than positive, and I'll explain that in greater detail.

As many of you probably know, I, like so many others, played the game for many years before I made an account online—five years in my case, and six before I actively joined the community. At the time (February 2015), it seemed like a warm and welcoming place. People were open to talk for the most part, and although they no doubt noticed that I had a major lack of maturity, they still made me feel accepted into their virtual home. As time went on however, particularly after the creation of Nobody's Discord server in May 2016, being in the community began to be more stressful than enjoyable for me. Many of you will say, justifiably so, that I have "no sense of fun" due to my complete lack of interest in the types of humor that go on here, and that stems from simply always being the type of person to think very logically and not understand any point in saying anything that you wouldn't normally say in a real life conversation. Naturally, I assumed, from an overly idealistic standpoint of course, people would act online just as they normally do, staying true to their character. I naïvely didn't see any reason not to follow this way of thinking, not realizing that some people join online communities to escape bad things that may be happening in their lives, or else just to meet new people and experiment with acting differently themselves, to possibly develop their personality in preparation for later life. (Of course, some people on the internet are also just trolls, but that doesn't apply to many.)