file FIX INPUT KEYS IN MARBLE BLAST GOLD

  • Jeff
  • Jeff's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Elite Marbler
  • Elite Marbler
  • PlatinumQuest Programmer
  • Posts: 1680
  • Thank you received: 205
29 Apr 2013 21:09 #1
Administration please make this sticky!

Sometimes on certain computers, keys will end up disabling themselves. This is because of the fact that there is an engine variable that has been exposed through script that sometimes messes input up. However, because the platinum team had made a discovery on this, I will provide you how to fix this in any mod OTHER THAN marble blast platinum (You need .cs files which mbp don't provide and the new mbp update has it fixed.)

go to marble/client/scripts/playGui.cs

open it in notepad/wordpad if your on windows, text-edit if your on mac

find function PlayGui::onWake(%this)

find in the function where it has the following:

$enableDirectInput = 1;

replace that with this commented:

// $enableDirectInput = 1;

save the file and load marble blast.

If you have any problems, post here and I can help you out.

~Jeff

Notes:

- If you use a joystick, beware that the joystick may not work.
- As previously mentioned, this has been fixed in MBP for the new update that will be coming out soon. More details at the appropriate time on how to fix it in the new MBP update after its released....

I am a programmer. Most here know me for being one of the major contributors to Marble Blast Platinum and PlatinumQuest.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • HiGuy
  • HiGuy's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Lead Developer
  • Lead Developer
  • PQ Developer Emeritus
  • Posts: 1333
  • Thank you received: 604
01 May 2013 05:11 #2
Nice. If anyone is using MBP / doesn't have those files, a reasonable alternative would be to add this to main.cs:
Code:function fix() {$enableDirectInput = 0; schedule(1000, 0, fix);
fix();}


It's kinda hacky, but gets the job done.

This signature is real code
Code:
function clientcmd12dothepq() { commandToClient(LocalClientConnection, '34onthedancefloor'); }

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Jeff
  • Jeff's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Elite Marbler
  • Elite Marbler
  • PlatinumQuest Programmer
  • Posts: 1680
  • Thank you received: 205
02 May 2013 01:47 #3
you forgot a } to close the function. fix it nao. :3

I am a programmer. Most here know me for being one of the major contributors to Marble Blast Platinum and PlatinumQuest.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Perishingflames
  • Perishingflames's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Senior Marbler
  • Senior Marbler
  • Posts: 882
  • Thank you received: 21
06 May 2013 08:23 #4
Apr 30, 2013, 10:11pm, higuy wrote:Nice. If anyone is using MBP / doesn't have those files, a reasonable alternative would be to add this to main.cs:
Code:function fix() {$enableDirectInput = 0; schedule(1000, 0, fix);
fix();}


It's kinda hacky, but gets the job done.

Why do you have to schedule it? If it is just executed after everything else is loaded (put at the end of main.cs) would that not work? Just curious.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • HiGuy
  • HiGuy's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Lead Developer
  • Lead Developer
  • PQ Developer Emeritus
  • Posts: 1333
  • Thank you received: 604
06 May 2013 08:54 #5
PlayGui.cs manually sets the variable when it is shown/hidden, so the only way to continually set it without code modification would be to schedule it.

This signature is real code
Code:
function clientcmd12dothepq() { commandToClient(LocalClientConnection, '34onthedancefloor'); }

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Perishingflames
  • Perishingflames's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Senior Marbler
  • Senior Marbler
  • Posts: 882
  • Thank you received: 21
06 May 2013 18:06 #6
I see. Does that slow down the game since it has to have that delay loop or does the engine optimize that somehow?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 301
  • Thank you received: 57
06 May 2013 19:49 #7
May 6, 2013, 11:06am, perishingflames wrote:I see. Does that slow down the game since it has to have that delay loop or does the engine optimize that somehow?

From what I know of coding, the act of scheduling and changing one variable is extremely minimal in computer terms, requiring almost no processing power to do. You could probably run a hundred of these at once and only then would it start cutting in to frame rate(if it even did at that point).

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Jeff
  • Jeff's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Elite Marbler
  • Elite Marbler
  • PlatinumQuest Programmer
  • Posts: 1680
  • Thank you received: 205
06 May 2013 22:22 #8
May 6, 2013, 11:06am, perishingflames wrote:I see. Does that slow down the game since it has to have that delay loop or does the engine optimize that somehow?

Tested it with that custom function that checks rate of execution:

input was: $enableDirectInput = 0;

Ran 5.38139e+006 times in 1 second(s) - how many times that can be executed in one second
0.000185826 ms per execution (approx) - how long it takes to execute once

I am a programmer. Most here know me for being one of the major contributors to Marble Blast Platinum and PlatinumQuest.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Perishingflames
  • Perishingflames's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Senior Marbler
  • Senior Marbler
  • Posts: 882
  • Thank you received: 21
08 May 2013 05:55 #9
That's quick. Guess no reason to avoid using them then

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Moderators: Doomblah
Time to create page: 1.006 seconds
We use cookies

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.