lock Moving Platforms Help!

  • Duskst
  • Duskst's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Novice Marbler
  • Novice Marbler
  • mhmm
  • Posts: 20
  • Thank you received: 0
15 Mar 2015 01:50 #1
Ok so I recently watched a tutorial on how to make custom moving platforms. In the comments, the interior tester shown wouldn't work.


So I loaded up my level on MB and when I tried to load the level (obviously) the platforms wouldn't show.

I tried changing the interior in the .mis file.

I couldn't see the moving platforms or anything but the interior.


Any way I could have help on this or at least some interior test to help me?

PS: Video -

Ender - Last Saturday at 4:36 PM
I have hopped on a circlejerking bandwagon.
The topic has been locked.
  • Posts: 260
  • Thank you received: 67
15 Mar 2015 03:33 #2
I too, am having this issue. I searched and read you needed to an interior test, however whenever I did an interior test, the same thing occurred. The interior was there, but no moving platform.
The topic has been locked.
  • HiGuy
  • HiGuy's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Lead Developer
  • Lead Developer
  • PQ Developer Emeritus
  • Posts: 1333
  • Thank you received: 604
15 Mar 2015 17:20 #3
If you just include the interior in your mission (without interior test, or if it doesn't create), you may need to manually create the moving platforms. Open the editor, click on your interior, and a "Create Subs" button should appear in the inspector (F3 mode). Press that. If still no moving platforms are created, then your interior did not export with any.

This signature is real code
Code:
function clientcmd12dothepq() { commandToClient(LocalClientConnection, '34onthedancefloor'); }
The topic has been locked.
  • Duskst
  • Duskst's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Novice Marbler
  • Novice Marbler
  • mhmm
  • Posts: 20
  • Thank you received: 0
15 Mar 2015 17:42 #4
So how exactly could I fix this?


Pics Shown Below

Attachment not found



and the one in constructor

Attachment not found


Ender - Last Saturday at 4:36 PM
I have hopped on a circlejerking bandwagon.
The topic has been locked.
  • HiGuy
  • HiGuy's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Lead Developer
  • Lead Developer
  • PQ Developer Emeritus
  • Posts: 1333
  • Thank you received: 604
15 Mar 2015 17:43 #5
Did you try using "Create Subs" like I described above?

This signature is real code
Code:
function clientcmd12dothepq() { commandToClient(LocalClientConnection, '34onthedancefloor'); }
The topic has been locked.
  • Duskst
  • Duskst's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Novice Marbler
  • Novice Marbler
  • mhmm
  • Posts: 20
  • Thank you received: 0
15 Mar 2015 17:48 #6
Yes and it only displays the markers.

I even re-exported the map and Created Subs and still nothing.

Ender - Last Saturday at 4:36 PM
I have hopped on a circlejerking bandwagon.
The topic has been locked.
  • HiGuy
  • HiGuy's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Lead Developer
  • Lead Developer
  • PQ Developer Emeritus
  • Posts: 1333
  • Thank you received: 604
15 Mar 2015 18:18 #7
That is quite strange. What happens if you Create Subs, save, and re-open the level?

This signature is real code
Code:
function clientcmd12dothepq() { commandToClient(LocalClientConnection, '34onthedancefloor'); }
The topic has been locked.
  • Duskst
  • Duskst's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Novice Marbler
  • Novice Marbler
  • mhmm
  • Posts: 20
  • Thank you received: 0
15 Mar 2015 18:31 #8
Still Doesn't show up

Just the same results.

Ender - Last Saturday at 4:36 PM
I have hopped on a circlejerking bandwagon.
The topic has been locked.
  • HiGuy
  • HiGuy's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Lead Developer
  • Lead Developer
  • PQ Developer Emeritus
  • Posts: 1333
  • Thank you received: 604
15 Mar 2015 18:42 #9
In that case, it is probably the case that your mapfile doesn't contain correctly formatted moving platforms, or your map2dif program did not export them correctly. In what order is your mapfile structured? It should be <normal brushes>, [<moving platform> <markers> <trigger>], [<moving platform> <markers> <trigger>], ...

This signature is real code
Code:
function clientcmd12dothepq() { commandToClient(LocalClientConnection, '34onthedancefloor'); }
The topic has been locked.
  • Duskst
  • Duskst's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Novice Marbler
  • Novice Marbler
  • mhmm
  • Posts: 20
  • Thank you received: 0
15 Mar 2015 18:58 #10
What? I'm totally confused

Ender - Last Saturday at 4:36 PM
I have hopped on a circlejerking bandwagon.
The topic has been locked.
  • HiGuy
  • HiGuy's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Lead Developer
  • Lead Developer
  • PQ Developer Emeritus
  • Posts: 1333
  • Thank you received: 604
15 Mar 2015 19:10 #11
When you open Properties in Constructor, what order do the entities appear in? It should look something like:
  • worldspawn
  • Door_Elevator
  • path_node
  • path_node
  • path_node
  • ...
  • Trigger
  • More of the same...

This signature is real code
Code:
function clientcmd12dothepq() { commandToClient(LocalClientConnection, '34onthedancefloor'); }
The topic has been locked.
  • Duskst
  • Duskst's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Novice Marbler
  • Novice Marbler
  • mhmm
  • Posts: 20
  • Thank you received: 0
15 Mar 2015 19:41 #12
worldspwn
Door_Elevator
path_node (x3)
Door_Elevator (x2)
path_node
trigger
path_node (x6)
trigger (x2)
path_node (x3)
Door_Elevator



Ender - Last Saturday at 4:36 PM
I have hopped on a circlejerking bandwagon.
Attachments:
The topic has been locked.
  • HiGuy
  • HiGuy's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Lead Developer
  • Lead Developer
  • PQ Developer Emeritus
  • Posts: 1333
  • Thank you received: 604
16 Mar 2015 04:15 #13
Ah, that explains it.

Constructor has some issues with grouping entities, especially Door_Elevators. Your best bet would be to open the .map file in a text editor, merge the 2x Door_Elevators into one, and move the triggers to correspond with the correct Door_Elevator. Or just re-create all the moving platforms and path_nodes in the correct order.

This signature is real code
Code:
function clientcmd12dothepq() { commandToClient(LocalClientConnection, '34onthedancefloor'); }
The topic has been locked.
  • Posts: 260
  • Thank you received: 67
18 Mar 2015 00:28 #14
What is the order of the Door_Elevators and path_nodes? Would you put the door elevators above the path nodes?
The topic has been locked.
  • IsraeliRD
  • IsraeliRD's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Project Manager
  • Project Manager
  • Dragon Power Supreme
  • Posts: 3502
  • Thank you received: 912
18 Mar 2015 04:55 #15

HiGuy wrote: When you open Properties in Constructor, what order do the entities appear in? It should look something like:

  • worldspawn
  • Door_Elevator
  • path_node
  • path_node
  • path_node
  • ...
  • Trigger
  • More of the same...


This is the only order you want. Reason is you always have door elevators (i.e. the platforms) above the path nodes, which in turn come before the triggers. Otherwise map2dif gets confused and doesn't export them properly, and the mission file doesn't do anything with them so they aren't working.

"matan, now i get what you meant a few years back when you said that "the level in mbg is beyond me" after the last rampage i noticed things were insane, and now i truly feel that too" - Dushine, 2015.
The topic has been locked.
  • Posts: 260
  • Thank you received: 67
18 Mar 2015 19:31 #16
Thanks, Matan, but now I'm having more problems. When I do the interior test, everything seems fine. The MustChange is there, and the path_nodes, but the platform doesn't move. Whats going on now?
The topic has been locked.
  • Duskst
  • Duskst's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Novice Marbler
  • Novice Marbler
  • mhmm
  • Posts: 20
  • Thank you received: 0
18 Mar 2015 19:56 - 14 Jun 2015 03:33 #17
What? I'm really confused now.


Sorry it's been a while but I got it.

Thanks Matan and Jeff

You guys can lock this topic now

Ender - Last Saturday at 4:36 PM
I have hopped on a circlejerking bandwagon.
Last edit: 14 Jun 2015 03:33 by Kalle29. Reason: .
The topic has been locked.
  • Kalle29
  • Kalle29's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • I blame ping for losing
  • Posts: 984
  • Thank you received: 754
14 Jun 2015 00:41 #18
Locking up, also merged posts.

༼ ͡◕ ͜ ʖ ͡◕༽ You have been visited by the Nivea™ Donger of moisture. Soft skin and good fortune will come to you, but only if you post "thank you Mr. Skeltal" in this thread ༼ ͡◕ ͜ ʖ ͡◕༽
The topic has been locked.
Moderators: Doomblah
Time to create page: 0.889 seconds
We use cookies

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.