• Joey's Avatar Topic Author
  • Senior Marbler
  • Senior Marbler
  • Doer of things.
  • Thank you received: 191
24 May 2016 05:28 #1
Closure
May 24, 2016

DISCLAIMER: While this blog does not contain crude language, it does deal with deep and controversial topics. Please be open to that if you decide to proceed.

I learned an important lesson this past weekend: memories are what you make of them in your own head. This means that the amount of melodrama associated with those memories is more or less based on how emotionally attached you are to them. I can attest to this on a purely personal level. When I graduated high school last year, I knew it wouldn’t be the last time I would see the few people I still cared about. I knew that I would reunite with them at their graduation. Well, that night has come and gone, and what I realized was that I set my expectations too high in regards to what I expected from it. I looked forward to seeing those few people because I had a preconceived idea about how strong our relationship actually was. But nothing went the way I thought it would. It instead left me with an empty void that I am trying now to fill.